Bon Appetit: Meringue Cups

Easter dessert is my job every year.  Therefore every year I am challenged to come up with a treat that is unique and suitable for Spring (it’s a pretty fun job)!  This year, my mom suggested I try meringue cups!  I’ll admit, I was a tad uncertain at first.  However, I do love trying new recipes and I realized that the final product would be worth any mistakes!  Believe me…  It was!

I used the recipe Meringue Crust from Allrecipes.com – my go-to website for anything foodie!  (Check out my other post for a delicious cupcake recipe from Allrecipes.)

The original recipe makes plenty for 8, although I doubled it for a large crowd.

Meringue Cups – with a few minor modifications and suggestions!

Ingredients (8 servings)

Meringue

2 egg whites

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup white sugar

Filling

2 cups vanilla pudding

4 kiwis sliced

3 cups strawberries

4 cups whipping cream whipped

Directions

In a large bowl, beat egg whites, cream of tartar, and salt until soft peaks form.  It is vital to make sure that no egg yolk gets in the mix.  I always break my eggs in a separate bowl and then pour them in.  This helps prevent having to restart recipes!

015

Add vanilla, and slowly beat in sugar until very stiff and glossy.  I added sugar by the tablespoon in rotations of approximately 5 seconds.

016     021

Next, spoon the meringue into an icing bag.  On parchment paper, ice the meringue in a spiral pattern to form the base.  Then, work in a circular motion up the sides to form the walls of your meringue cup!

019     018

Bake at 300 degrees F for 50 minutes.  Turn oven off, and leave meringue in oven for 1 hour.  Let cool.

054056057

058059

And voila!

For my filling I started with vanilla pudding and strawberries, followed by whipping cream and strawberries and kiwi!  However there are plenty of options!  I’d love to try custard and fresh berries next time.  Or maybe in the fall chocolate moose and caramel?

Everyone LOVED this dessert; people even compared the meringue taste to the crisp topping on Creme Brule!

Bon appetit,

XO Aimé By Aimé

Leave a Reply

